What Is the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator?

Reverbtime Magazine -
  • 0
  • 113
Scroll Down For More

ENTJ, one of the sixteen Myers-Briggs personality types, is "the general" personality type. Discover the cognitive functions and characteristics of ENTJ personalities.


What Is the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator?

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a personality assessment based on self-report. The MBTI was developed by Isabel Myers and Catherine Briggs, who heavily drew on the work of Swiss psychologist Carl Jung to promote self-understanding by assisting people in clarifying their abilities and preferences in life, work, and relationships.


ENTJ Cognitive Functions

The cognitive functions of ENTJ personalities, according to the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator system, include the following:

1. Dominant: Extroverted Thinking is the ENTJ personality type's dominant function. ENTJs prioritize efficiency and take a methodical approach to decision-making.

2. Auxiliary: Introverted Intuition is the auxiliary cognitive function of ENTJs, which means they gather and process information through patterns and impressions. ENTJs are forward-thinking and highly perceptive of their surroundings.

3. Tertiary: Extroverted Sensing is the ENTJ personality type's tertiary function. ENTJs live in the present moment and use their senses. ENTJs are daring and enjoy new experiences.

4. Inferior: Introverted Feeling is the inferior cognitive function, the weakest function. ENTJs frequently make rash decisions without considering the impact on their personal values.


ENTJ Traits

Like all MBTI types, ENTJ has several recognizable attributes:

1. Assertive

2. Charismatic

3. Competitive

4. Decisive

5. Pragmatic

6. Motivated

7. Organized


ENTJ Careers

Because ENTJs are self-motivated, motivated, and communicate well with others, they excel in leadership and administrative positions. ENTJs are risk takers who can see the big picture quickly, making them good innovators and crisis leaders. CEO, business strategist, scientist, software engineer, lawyer, and human resources manager are typical ENTJ careers.


The 4 Myers-Briggs Categories

The MBTI personality test categorizes people into sixteen different types. The letters are abbreviations for four psychological functions, scales, or categories in human personalities:

1. Introversion-Extroversion (I-E): This term refers to how people interact with themselves and others. Extroverted people thrive on socializing and find relationships relatively energizing, whereas introverts require more time alone and frequently find socializing draining.

2. Sensing-Intuition (S-N) Scale: This scale describes how people gather information about their surroundings. Some people are more sensitive to sensory information, while others use intuition to take in their surroundings.

3. Thinking-Feeling (T-F): This describes how people make choices about the world and events. Those who prefer thinking are rational and deliberative, and they prefer logical conclusions. People who are more emotional tend to emphasize their feelings when making decisions.

4. Judging-Perceiving (J-P) Scale: This scale reflects people's general attitude toward people and events. People who judge prefer organizational structure and precise decisions, whereas those who perceive are more accepting, nuanced, and reserved in their opinions and ideas.


The 16 Myers-Briggs Personality Types

The sixteen Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) types are ISTJ, ISFJ, INTJ, INFJ, ISTP, INTP, INFP, ISFP, ESTJ, ENTJ, ENTP, ENFJ, ENFP, ESFP, ESTP, and ESFJ.

Related Posts
Comments 0
Leave A Comment